Grad school update

15 10 2010

As many of you know, in addition to learning Russian and working on my research, I’m also applying to grad school while I’m here in Kyrgyzstan.  My two weeks off from Russian classes have given me the time I needed to sort out what programs I’m going to apply to.  I’ve decided to pursue a Master’s in Higher Education Administration.  Eventually I hope to work at a university in an administrative capacity, preferably as an academic advisor.  I thought long and hard about this decision, and I’m confident that this is the right type of program for me.  After exhaustive research, I’ve narrowed down my choices to 9 schools, all of which I think would be great fits for me.  Here they are:

University of Maryland, College Park

Vanderbilt

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Columbia

Harvard

NYU

Northwestern University

George Washington University

University of Pennsylvania

I feel good about my chances, but please think good thoughts and keep your fingers crossed for me over the next few months.  I won’t start hearing back from schools until late January at the earliest, and I probably won’t know for sure where I’m going until March or April, but it’s a huge relief to finally be at the application stage instead of the research/preparation stage. 

Wish me luck!

Actions

Information

8 responses

15 10 2010
jorge

Hi Kurt!

i thought we were so close to having another Xiling in our midst 😉 just joking, i know that you’ve put a ton of effort into finding the best fit for you. I wish you the best of luck and don’t let it stress you out too much.

16 10 2010
kurtinkstan

I know…I debated long and hard about going to grad school in linguistics. And the more I thought about it, the more I realized that, while I really enjoy it, I couldn’t quite see myself doing the whole tenure track professor thing. And the prospect of >5 more years of school was just too much. This keeps me in the college setting, which I love, but removes the publish or perish angle…which is nice.

15 10 2010
Ryan H

Kurt – I believe Duane Bradshaw is in that field at George Mason. You should give him a holler!

16 10 2010
kurtinkstan

I’ve talked with him a little bit. His work is more on the career advising and not academic advising, but it’s definitely related.

16 10 2010
Jordan G

Good luck! I hope you absolutely love it where ever you end up!

16 10 2010
kurtinkstan

Спасибо!!!

16 10 2010
Maree

I’m rooting for UMd or GWU, obvs, but I know you will be kicking ass wherever you go. 🙂

17 10 2010
Lynne

Woo-Wee! Vandy?! How did that get in the mix? Nashville is a great town…Oh, I’d love it if you went there!

PS–send me that CV foolishness when you get a chance!

Leave a Reply

