Winter is here

22 10 2010

After nearly uninterrupted gorgeous weather since my arrival in Bishkek in September, winter arrived this week in full force.  The temperature on Tuesday was in the mid- to high-60s, and Wednesday morning started off the same.  In the early afternoon, the sky darkened, and it began to rain.  The rain continued through the night, and, by the time I was sitting in my first class on Thursday, it had morphed into snow.  The ground was too warm for the snow to stick around, but it heralded the arrival of what will surely be a long Kyrgyz winter.  It’s been clearer since Thursday afternoon, but it’s significantly colder now — right at freezing when I left my house this morning for class.

 

I need to buy a coat.

 

In other news, I’m nearly done with grad school applications.  Me being me, I’ve added a few schools to the list, and I’m now sitting with 14 applications to programs around the eastern US.  The current candidates are (in no particular order) are:

 

George Washington University

Northwestern University

Indiana University Bloomington

University of Maryland College Park

Harvard University

University of Michigan

Michigan State University

New York University

Columbia University

UNC Greensboro

University of Pennsylvania

Penn State University

Vanderbilt University

University of Tennessee

 

I’ve got a few more transcripts to request and one fellowship application to fill out, and then I’m done!  I won’t start hearing back from schools until mid-January at the earliest, but I’ll be quite glad to have the whole process finished.  A huge thanks to those of you who helped out by either writing recommendations or editing my CV and/or statement of purpose.  Please, everyone, keep your fingers crossed for me over the next few months!

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 10 2010
Lindsey

Winter here is beginning, too. Flurries overnight (only stuck a little on roofs, the deck, etc.), with more forecast this morning. Way too soon!!

Good luck with grad school! Can’t wait to hear where you end up.

22 10 2010
Mom

GG will be pulling for UMd – College Park for certain. Dad got those forms/letters done for you. They are in the mail. Stay warm! Love you

Leave a Reply

