Strange Foods

9 11 2010

In my conversation class today, we started talking about psychology and different character traits.  Eventually the topic of adventurousness came up, and my teacher and I started discussing strange foods around the world.  This got me trying to remember some of the strange dishes I’ve eaten in my travels.  I decided surf the Interwebs to try to jog my memory.  Now, I don’t consider all of these foods “strange”, but I’m leaving it up to y’all to be the judge.  Here’s the list of what I’ve tried.

1000 year old eggs

Alligator

Alpaca

Beef Tartar

Beetle (in Cambodia…and they were both pretty good!)

Bird’s Nest Soup

Blood Pudding

Buffalo

Butter tea

Cactus Apples

Caviar

Ceviche

Chicken Cartilage

Chicken Livers (YUM!)

Chocolate Covered Bacon (which I’ve made myself)

Conch

Cow tongue

Crayfish (heck, I briefly worked at a restaurant called Crawdaddy’s)

Cricket

Dog

Durian (I haven’t had actual durian, but I had a durian gelato in Dallas at this year’s National Scrabble Championship)

Fried Dill Pickles

Fried Green Tomatoes

Frites and Mayo (but really, is there any other way to have fries?)

Frog’s Legs

Goat

Green tea ice cream

Grits

Guinea Pig

Kim Chee

Kumys (fermented mare’s milk)

Lobster

Marmite

Moose

Nopales (prickly pear cactus)

Okra

Oysters

Pigeon

Piranha (which we caught ourselves in Bolivia)

Poutine

Quail

Rabbit

Rose ice cream

Scrapple

Seaweed

Shark

Sheep Brains

Snail

Spam

Sushi

Swordfish

Tempeh

Tripe

Turtle

Unagi (fresh-water eel)

Uni (raw sea urchin roe)

Vegemite

Venison

Wheat grass juice

Yak

Yogurt

Anything you’d expect to be there, but isn’t?  What strange foods have you tried?

Actions

Information

8 responses

9 11 2010
Jess Bowerman

I agree, hot, salty fries + mayo is the only way to go…

10 11 2010
Kelly

Love Fries And Mayo!!!
Love Me Some Chicken Lives Too!
I’ve been watching this show called Bizarre Foods, and It’s Very Interesting.
Have seen lots of the foods you speak of on there.

12 11 2010
Jamie

I draw the line at alpaca, Kurt!

15 11 2010
kurtinkstan

Alpaca was surprisingly tasty! Alpaca on a stick. Mmm.

19 11 2010
Alice

I do like alpaca. Reminded me of venison. Unfortunately, didn’t get to the cuy while I was in Peru. /: Nopales, I have to say, were not as delicious.

Also, I love that you include yogurt on your list of strange foods. I agree.

18 11 2010
Maree

Scrapple is not strange! It’s just sausage, rearranged and seasoned slightly differently. 🙂

Mayo is completely haraam in my house, however. And that mess better stay away from my fries!

22 11 2010
Brooke

You know, 1,000-year-old-eggs weren’t nearly as terrible as I thought they were going to be.

Should you add dehydrated celery shavings to the list? Surprisingly sweet, if I remember correctly … which is quite the “if” …

26 11 2010
Mom

What? Opossum i& squirrel not on the list! You need to travel in the Appalacians.

Leave a Reply

