Quick Update

6 12 2010

I’m currently in exile at a coffee shop because the power is out at our apartment.  So I’ll be posting quickly, and a bigger update (with pictures!) will be forthcoming once we have power back at the flat.

 

I spent last week making contacts to get my research off the ground.  I have a few contacts at some education related NGOs, and I’m gathering some contacts at the Kyrgyz Ministry of Education.  It’s slow going, but I foresee really getting into my research by the end of the month.  And that’s exciting.

 

I spent a few days in Karakol at the end of last week with my roommate Stuart.  Karakol’s a sleepy little tourist town on the eastern end of Lake Issyk-Kul, and, while there’s not a whole lot to do there, we managed to have a good time.  We saw an old orthodox basilica and an old Dungan mosque, checked out the small central market and took a trip outside of the city to check out some gorgeous red rock cliffs and some natural hot springs.  We got back Saturday to a beautiful snow-covered Bishkek, where winter has finally (and for good, this time, it seems) set in.

 

Since then, it’s been blisteringly cold (lows around 0F [or -15C]), but I love the cold weather, so that’s just fine with me.  I’ve got a Fulbright friend from Kazakhstan coming into town tonight, and it’ll be fun to get to play tour guide in Bishkek.

 

Hope things are well with all of you!

Actions

Information

One response

6 12 2010
Mom

Glad you checked in. I was afraid you were still in a post-Thanksgiving meal coma. It is cold here, too. We actually had alittle snow on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

