I am, in fact, alive

11 02 2011

Hey everybody!

 

So, I’ve been swamped the last couple of weeks, fully delving into the research aspect of my Fulbright.  Thus far, I’ve collected and processed 1500 surveys from schools around Kyrgyzstan.  I’m taking off next week to head to Talas, a region in northwestern Kyrgyzstan, to continue collecting surveys.  It’s intensive work, but I’m really enjoying interacting with students all over the country.

 

I’ve run into a bit of bureaucracy while trying to start visiting schools in Bishkek.  The superintendent is requiring me to present a letter from Fulbright (on letterhead, no less) to conduct my research in the capital city.  I kind of understand where she’s coming from, but I haven’t had to do anything like this for anywhere else in the country, so I think it’s as much leftover Soviet bureaucracy as it is anything else.

 

Aside from the research, we hosted a Super Bowl Breakfast Bash at our apartment.  We had homemade bagels, eggs, nachos, mimosas….it was a blast!  It helped that I was ambivalent to who won.

 

In grad school news, I’m 8 for 8 for acceptances so far.  Here’s where things stand so far:

 

Accepted:

George Washington University

Northwestern University

Indiana University

University of Michigan

University of Pennsylvania

Penn State

Vanderbilt

University of Tennessee

 

Still Waiting:

Harvard

Michigan State

NYU

Columbia

UNC Greensboro

 

I’m planning on making a trip back to the States at the end of March to visit my top couple choices, so if you live in NYC, Philly, Chicago or DC, you may be hearing from me for a couch to crash.  I’ll keep you posted.

 

Love to you all!

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 02 2011
Mom and Dad

Send more photos. Can you take some pictures of the students? Glad to hear from you at last!!

14 02 2011
k8

looking good! let me know where and when you’re visiting and i’ll see if i know anyone at any of the schools.

18 02 2011
Mom and Dad

Add UNC Greensboro to your acceptance column!

Leave a Reply

